What’s Next?

2009.  The new year.  A time for new setting goals.  I hate setting goals because when they are not realized I automatically think failure.  I had planned to travel in 2008 from April to December.  But I didn’t.  I had planned to travel to many other countries and regions.  But I didn’t.  I can’t help but think I failed.

But that was then.  On the dawn of a new year, on the verge of turning 30 (yikes!), I have come to realize that I am way too critical of myself.  I traveled around the world.  That’s amazing, right?  A couple of months ago I would have said, “yeah but there’s other people who have traveled farther and longer.”  Today, it is enough.  I traveled around the world and that’s amazing!

When I left last April, I had an inkling that when I returned I wanted to pursue teaching.  Today it is a reality.  Of all the subjects to teach, I chose Math.  Math is important- even for world travelers.  I can’t believe how much math I used abroad.  This week, I started a math class at my local community college.  It’s been over ten years since I’ve studied math but I’m confident in my abilities to pick it up quickly.  Math is something I’ve always excelled at.

This May, I will start pursuing a math degree at West Virginia University.  West Virginia!?  Well, I have a lot of family history in Morgantown, WV.  My mom was born and raised there and even attended WVU for a bit (tuition was $400 a semester then– somehow I don’t think it’s the same today).  My dad graduated high school there and Morgantown is where he met my mom.  Both my grandmas worked at some point for WVU.  And my great-grandfather is in their Sports Hall of Fame.  When looking for a university I wanted to experience something different than my previous college experience of a smaller school and quarterly schedules.  West Virginia fit that bill with its larger student population and semester schedules.  Another draw was that it’s Math Department is smaller than that other schools of similar size i.e. the University of Washington.

While completing the degree, I will be looking at options for the teaching certification part- definitely a Masters in Teaching, most likely back in Washington State but I want to keep my options open.  Seriously, who likes to plan their life so far in advance?!?

So, there you have it… what’s next for me.

1 Response to “What’s Next?”


  1. 1 Rhona January 14, 2009 at 1:18 am

    Those are some great plans. I can relate in that I crave to travel but it takes money and that is something I am working on. I plan on taking some time off to travel extensively but I can’t see that happening for a few years. In the meantime, I plan on seeing bits and pieces of the world. Good luck with your teaching degree. Sounds like you are destinated with the great family history.


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

