Countdown…3…2…1

Many of you would think that the countdown is for when I come home (which is very, very soon) but in reality it’s the countdown to when I leaped (leaped might be a stretch) off an 165 foot platform attached to a giant rubber band.  Bungee!!  I have the certificate to prove it and if that’s not enough I have the video as well.  I stood up there for I think 10 minutes or so before I finally closed my eyes and just did it.  I remember opening my eyes on the way down but the rest of it was a blur.  It’s very disorientating.  But, I do remember thinking on the way down “I’m doing it, I’m doing it.”  I’m so glad I didn’t back out like I wanted to.  I knew I would regret it.  It’s a good metaphor for this whole trip.  It’s scary but exhilarating.  I’m glad I went home when I did and glad I came back out into the world to finish what I started.  Now, I don’t have to think about the “what if’s” because I did it!!  Oh yeah, before I bungee jumped I played with and cuddled with some tigers- babies, small ones, and big ones.  Might as well do all the heart-racing stuff in one day, huh??

I’m currently in Chiang Mai, Thailand – home to trekking and cooking courses (among other things).  Since I’m not much of a hiker at home, I skipped the trek.  Instead, I signed up for a “Intensive” Thai cooking course in which I learned six courses not normally offered in the standard classes.  I can’t wait to have a Thai dinner party so that I can show off my skills.  Other than that I’ve been enjoying my last few days vagabonding.

Now, I’m going to go see if I can get my heart rate back to normal.

7 Responses to “Countdown…3…2…1”


  1. 2 Mom October 8, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    And this from the girl the had a hard time repelling from the the high school gym roof. LOL. Congrats, you go girl. Love ya. Can’t wait to see the video.

  2. 3 michelle robinson October 8, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!! im impressed.. theres no way in heck i could do that. I dont think i’ve even thought about even “thinking” about trying it… good job. IM sooo glad you went back to finish your trip. Cant wait to hear the stories and see the pics.. see you soon

  3. 4 Amy October 8, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Yeah Yeah Yeah, I have to see the video to believe it. You were always afraid to go on the ride at the amusement park that shoots you straight up about 250 feet!!! So nobody pushed you? You did it on your own? Impressive!! I knew you had a little bit of me in you…hee hee

  4. 5 Kathy October 8, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    You are crazy……better you than me! Hurry home. Love ya bunches soon to be Great Aunt Kathy

  5. 6 Stacy October 9, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I knew this would get a lot of replies. The downside is that my back is killing me.

  6. 7 Gilbert October 9, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Congrats!!! I’m happy you are living your adventure to the fullest! I have always wanted to bungee jump. If you can do it, maybe I can as well. Maybe we can do it together. 🙂

    Take care and see you soon!


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

