Archive for August 13th, 2008

Return to Paradise

After Kuala Lumpur, we went up to the Cameron Highlands.  It was nice to escape the heat for the first time in six weeks.  The Cameron Highlands are known for their tea plantations which is very similar to the ones in Sri Lanka.  So, I got to visit a little bit of Sri Lanka afterall.  We got to see the entire process from picking in the fields to processing it.  They have been using the same machines since 1935.  Afterwards, we got to sit down to a cup of tea and eat a yummy scone.

After the Highlands, we made our way to our last stop in Malaysia- Penang.  We stayed in the colonial town of Georgetown.  It was very hot and since there wasn’t much to do other than wander the streets I ended up in a nice air-conditioned mall.  I had some extra ringgits to spend before heading to Thailand.  I opted to not buy anything because I don’t have much space in my bag.  So, instead, I jumped head first into the fierce hair salon competition.  I wanted to cover what my stylist at home affectionately calls “pre-lightened” hair whereas the Malaysian stylists bluntly call it “white”.  I had no less than four sets of hands in my hair at one point or another and came out two and a half hours later with 2.5 inches lopped off and blonde highlights.  Overall, the result turned out good and it’s nice to brighten up my look since I haven’t had a haircut or color since March.

The next day we made the long journey (10 hours!) into Thailand to the small town of Surat Thani – the jumping off point to the islands of Koh Samui and Koh Pha Ngan.  I came to Koh Pha Ngan two years ago this month to the same beach resort and it is still the paradise I remember.  So, for the next couple of days I will be getting some well-deserved rest and relaxation and if I’m lucky some color on my ghostly legs.

Tonight, some of us are going to see Thailand’s top Reggae band (our Tour Leader is a big fan), apparently they’re well-known, but then again I wonder if there’s really a competition for the top spot because seriously how many reggae bands are there in Thailand?  All well it should be interesting.

Next stop is Bangkok in a couple of days.  And I start a new tour that takes me to Cambodia, Vietnam, and Laos soon after.  Stay tuned and don’t forget to leave me some comments I love reading them.


Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

August 2008
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31