Singapore to Kuala Lumpur

The last five days have been a whirlwind- learning new tour mate names, two different countries, and hot, humid weather.

Singapore is a lot like any big city America.  Two of the big tourist activities are having a Singapore Sling at the Raffles Hotel Long Bar (which I didn’t because it was $16 USD) and the Night Safari at the world-renowned Singapore Zoo (which I did and it was amazing).  A flying squirrel came right at us and veered off at the last second.  So scary!  The zoo is unlike any other I’ve been to.  There are natural barriers so it does not feel like you are looking at a caged animal.

I met my tour group the next day.  I’m the only American (naturally) and apart from four Australians the rest are from the UK.  We all get along great and have already had some great laughs.

I really love what I’ve seen of Malaysia and it’s so cheap!  Meals for around $5 including a drink.  I also replaced my broken watch with two new ones and only paid about $10 for both.  Right now, I’m in Kuala Lumpur (or “KL” as us cool kids say) where the top two things to do are the Petronas Towers (tallest building in the world until 2004) and the Batu Caves.  While I didn’t quite get over to the Petronas Towers we did, however, went up the Menara tower and got a good view over the city including the towers at sunset.  Today, we took the public bus out to the Batu Caves where I climbed over 200 steep steps with relative ease (which I would not have been able to do a month ago).  Oh, and there were monkeys all over the place but not nearly as scary as my run-in with monkeys in India.

I’ve been trying for an hour to upload pictures directly to this post but I’ve given up for now.  But, I have uploaded new photos to my annoying Photobucket site.  I know it’s not the easiest way to view my photos but it’ll have to do for now.  Click on the “Photos” tab at the top.  It’s not much but enjoy.

3 Responses to “Singapore to Kuala Lumpur”


  1. 1 QuaChee August 7, 2008 at 11:44 am

    all i would say is Selamat Datang haha. which means Welcome 🙂 i guess each country is unique to itself… and you are right to say visiting singapore is like visiting a city.. but actually beyond the touristy things, singapore has quite a lot of hidden treasures.

    maybe the next time when you come by over here again haha.

  2. 2 Amy August 7, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    Great Pictures!!! It is great to read about how much fun you are having, especially this second time around. I still worry about you and so does everyone else here, but we know that you are having the time of your life. Dave says hello and everyone at Dakota Creek laughs when I tell them my bathroom experience. Don’t know when you are planning on returning but my baby shower will be either the first or second Saturday in October.
    Take care, I love you
    Amy

  3. 3 Kathy August 13, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    Hi Stacy,

    I looked up the tallest bldg on google, not bad but would not want to be in it during a earthquake. I can’t believe you are surviving all the heat I think the next place I go on vacation is Alaska. I hope you are using suncreen over there you can never be too safe with your ivory white skin. 🙂

    I saw your sister’s nursery it looks really cute but not a pink thing in site anywhere. LOL


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

