Last Day in Egypt

Today is my last day in Egypt and I am so ready to move on.  I’ve spent the last fours days staying at an awesome hostel (Wake Up! Cairo Hostel) doing some fun things like a Nile Dinner Cruise complete with belly dancer and one night we all went and saw the new Batman movie.  I met some really great people from around the world including Americans.  Amy and I had not met any Americans when we were traveling together.  In fact, Egyptians would guess I’m from England, Germany, and believe it or not Sweden (twice!) before they would even think of American.

I’m not sure if I would ever come back to Egypt.  It may be because of the heat or it could be that I’ve pretty much seen all I want to see.  You really have to be into Egyptian history and such to really appreciate all the sights.  Otherwise, just stick to Cairo and the Giza Pyramids and for your own sanity come during the cooler months.  Right now, I feel cooler but I’m not sure if the temperature has dropped or I’m just used to it all.

The first day in Cairo, Amy and I had koshary- a cheap, traditional Egyptian meal.  We didn’t take to it so well and hadn’t eaten it since.  Luckily, I’ve had the opportunity to try it again and with success!!  Around the corner from the hostel is a great koshary place packed with locals.  And the best part is that it’s so cheap- less than a dollar.  Koshary has rice, pasta, spaghetti, tomato sauce, lentils, chickpeas and dried onions.  I found out that the extra sauce that comes on the side is not tomato sauce but a very spicy chilli sauce.  I only found this out after the outside of my upper lip started burning.  Another thing, Amy and I forgot to do was to mix all the ingredients together.

I leave for Dubai tonight.  It will be around 100 degrees F at midnight when I arrive.  In fact, for the entire time I am there it will be in the low 100s but will feel like the low 110s with humidity.  The overnight lows??  Low to mid 90s.  Yea!!  By the time I get to so-called hot Singapore I’ll probably be cold.

6 Responses to “Last Day in Egypt”


  1. 1 DAD July 27, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    HEY SUN-SHINE HOW’S GOES IT. SEE YOUR HEADING FLEET PULLS IN KEEP CLEAR OF THOSE SAILOR’S.

    LOVE YA DAD

  2. 2 Margaret L. July 28, 2008 at 6:33 am

    Try and stay ‘kewl’ Stacy – enjoy Dubai and all the glitz and sand!!! Maybe you could try the indoor ski hill – at least it might be a few degrees cooler in there. Look forward to your next blog and your opinion of the architecture.

    Stay safe!

    Margaret

  3. 3 Mom July 28, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Hi Baby! Found any water aerobics in Dubai yet? LOL. We watched the video Amy brought back from Egypt. Looks like you saw quite a bit. It was nice seeing your face. And Amy’s description of the bathrooms was hilarious. Hope you are staying cool. Bet you can’t wait to keep out of the heat. We are about 65-70 here today. Burrrr! LOL Take care. Love ya, Mommy

  4. 4 vanessa July 28, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Hey you!!! I’ve heard some of the stories and I cant wait to hear about Dubai. I’m actually jealous. Dubai is one of the places I really would like to visit. Have fun my friend, I’m off to lunch so I will write more later. 🙂

  5. 5 Amy July 29, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Well, I actually retained a lot more information about the history of Egypt than I thought. Everyone is asking me so many questions and I am able to answer them intelligently….who would of thunk it??
    Watch out for those men looking at you in Dubai! Hee Hee. Check out my my space I posted a lot of pics.
    Take care, glad to see you had more fun after I left, jeez….
    Love you

  6. 6 mandy July 30, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    great experience! but some things you only need to experience once, like that outrageous heat! criminy! i’m sure you’ll be happier back in asia, since you liked it so much before 😉


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

