…and Finally into Turkey

I called my parents and my sister when I arrived by ferry in Samos, Greece from Athens at 2:15 in the morning.  The morning ferry to Kusadasi, Turkey left at 8:30 am so I thought I would save money by not getting a hotel for a couple of hours and staying in a 24 hour restaurant.  Little did I know when I called home that night that I would be stuck in Samos all day because there was no ferry that morning.  The ferry leaves at 5pm and I had basically had no sleep.  Luckily, I ducked into a nearby hotel to enquire about using a hotel room for the day.  They offered a room for 23 Euros which is about how much a hostel is in Athens/Rome.  I had the best 4 hours of sleep ever!  I got on the ferry at 5 and everything else turned out fine.

Right now, I’m in Selcuk (Sell-Chook) which is right next to these amazing Roman ruins (Efes- there are several ways of spelling the site I choose the easiest).  I think the ruins are better than the ones in Italy!  In Italy and Greece there is a big effort to restore the sites to make them look like the originals and sometimes it is hard to tell what’s original and what’s not.  Here, they have left the site alone and only used concrete as support in some areas but it is very obvious what is original.  This is probably my favorite ancient Roman city.  Anyone going to Turkey should include Selcuk and Efes on their intinerary.  Oh, and the city during it’s heyday  (around 100 to 200 ad) also had running water!  Them Romans are quite smart!

I also went to the Artemis Temple which is one of the original ancient wonders of the world.  All that’s left is one column.  Apparently, it was four times the size of the Partheon.

So far Turkey is a very pleasant country but then again I’ve only been to one place.  The people are very friendly and eager to please.  We had free fresh fruit after dinner and after we paid.  Unheard of in my traveling – nothing’s free.

Turkey has shown me a good first impression.  We’ll see if it continues…

1 Response to “…and Finally into Turkey”


  1. 1 Kathy May 13, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    Hello Stacy,

    I am so jealous, now instead of Rome I may have to go to Greece. Was telling someone here about Saronini his parents were just there on thier vacation. Leaving on Thursday to see your cousins. Ella asked her Daddy “Daddy have I ever met Aunt Kathy before” maybe she will remember me this time since she was only 2 the last time we were there. I’m glad you are having a wonderful time, you are missed. Love you bunches Aunt Kathy soon to be Great Aunt Kathy…LOL I knew I was great


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

