A Week in Rome

Almost seven years ago I threw a coin over my shoulder into the Trevi Fountain which is supposed to mean that someday you will come back to Rome.  It worked for me and I found myself spending another wonderful week here.

Back in 2001, with my university’s art department, I came to Rome for the first time.  Less than a couple of hours after our long flight to Italy our professors took us on a walking tour that we later nicknamed the “Death March” because we were jetlagged and wanted to nothing more than take a shower and sleep.  This year a group of us from the hostel did what I called “Death March – Part II – At Night”  We walked all over Rome after sunset to see the monuments lit up.  Then when I thought it couldn’t get any worse – the Spanish Steps appeared.  We needed to climb to the top to reach a street that would take us back to the hostel.  It’s the equivalent of 12 flights of stairs!  I will have perfectly toned calves by the end of this trip.

Another reason I wanted to come back to Rome is because I missed an important piece of art in the Vatican Museum.  Being an art major you would think I would love art museums – not so much.  In 2001, I blazed through the museum to get to the Sistine Chapel and realized after I left that I missed Raphael’s °School of Athens.”  This time I realized where I had went wrong.  There is one route throught the Vatican Museum until it splits – one sign has just the Sistine Chapel while the other listed a whole slew of rooms with the Sistine Chapel last.  So of course, in 2001, I chose to go directly to the Chapel and to skip the other rooms.  This last Wednesday I chose the longer route and it did not disappoint.  What I love about frescos is that they can never move, they are part of that room, and you are standing where the artist worked.

The next day I went to the Colosseo (in English it’s the Colosseum).  I had never been inside and decided to take a guided tour.  The guide was boring for the most part but I did learn a couple of things.  The Colosseum was not called the Colosseum originally.  There was a huge statue about the same height as the stadium that was called Colosseum and when it fell down the name was transferred to the stadium.  Also, more surprising to me, was that there was a removable canopy that covers the stadium during rain or intense sun.  Imagine the world’s first retractable roof stadium!  Pretty impressive them ancient Romans!

Yesterday, I went out to Ostia Antica.  I’ve read that if you can’t make it to Pompeii you should go here.  It was an easy 1 hour trip outside of the city.  The site is massive and a lot of the buildings, well at least their bases, where still standing.  I would try to imagine what it would be like to live during its’ peak as I walked down the main street.  What would I hear?  What would I smell?  Who would I see?

Today, I went to Villa Borghese which is a large park.  I packed a baguette sandwich and brought along a book and my Ipod.  It was pretty but I still have the inability to just do nothing.  I always feel like I have to do something because if I don’t I feel guilty for wasting away the day.  I only spent a couple of hours before heading back to the hostel via the very crowded Spanish Steps – apparently it’s a three day weekend here in Italy.

Oh, I’m still trying to figure out what gelati flavor I like the most… oh poor me!!

On Monday, I leave on my long journey to Athens.  I will take a train, followed by a 16-hour ferry (I splurged on the dorm bed so that I can get decent sleep), and then either the train or bus (I haven’t decided yet).  I will hopefully arrive in Athens in the early evening on Tuesday.

7 Responses to “A Week in Rome”


  1. 1 Meaghann April 27, 2008 at 1:04 am

    STACY!!!

  2. 2 Meaghann April 27, 2008 at 1:07 am

    Opps! didn’t mean to write just your name before. So, i got a message saying the cruise is cancelled. I guess we will be spending the whole time in Athens. Yay. Ummmm, bummer. I hope you check this soon. Send me a message. How much did you send me? 165? I shall bring it with me. This really stinks! See you in about five days.
    Meaghann

  3. 3 Mom April 28, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Sounds like Rome is more to your liking. Since your Greek Isle cruise is cancelled, where will you spend your time in Greece? Will it all be in Athens? How does this effect your budget? Interesting minds want to know. You’ve been gone only three weeks, but it seems like three months. Miss you bunches. Love ya, Mom

  4. 4 Amy Voorhees April 28, 2008 at 2:44 am

    I hope our tour in Egypt doesn’t get cancelled too.
    Glad to see you are having more fun in Rome, especially the second time around, you better be taking lots of pictures!!
    Don’t get pregnant unless you like to hug the porcelain GOD, I have my days; hopefully it will go away by July.
    Softball is going great everyone keeps asking about you (Jenny, PJ, JoJo, Amy, Laura, and Jen) I am goign to send them the link to your blog.
    Can’t wait to see you
    Love you and miss you terribly
    Amy

  5. 5 mandy April 30, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    what’s the difference between a mural and a fresco?

  6. 6 taco bell free tacos April 10, 2013 at 3:55 am

    Fabulous, what a website it is! This blog gives useful data to us,
    keep it up.

  7. 7 general anxiety disorder April 28, 2013 at 9:11 am

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post
    was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

