Morocco Wrap-Up

Here are my stats and likes/dislikes for Morocco.  All dollar amount conversions are approximates.

Total Spent: $661.70
Cheapest Day: $18.55 in Meknes
Most Expensive Day: $91.86 in Essaouira (where everything is most expenisve)
Cheapest Hotel: $9.66 in Meknes
Most Expensive Hotel: $48.28 in Essaouira (a traditional riad)
Cheapest Meal: $3.45 in Rabat (Cheese Panini and Fries including tip)
Most Expensive Meal: $27.59 in Fez (Almond Chicken Tagine and lots of other stuff – a feast!)
Small Water: $.41 (as a comparison the same size water is $1.57 in Rome)
Big Water: $.69

Faves
City: Marrakesh and Essaouira (I can’t choose one.)
Hotel: Dar Afram, Essaouira (The food, the music, the super friendly owners…)
Meal: Dar Afram, Essaouira (By far the best meal – Beef Tangine with carmelized onions, prunes and almonds – mmmm)

Dislikes
City: Rabat (not much to do, intimidating cafes/restaurants)
Hotel: Hotel Regina (dark, cold room with a hard, hard bed)
Meal: Chicken Couscous in Marrakesh (didn’t care for it)

Overall the people were extremely friendly but I would have had a better time if I spoke more French and met more travelers.  The last two days in Essaouira were fantastic because of the other travelers I met and the town was much more relaxed than anywhere else.  I have come to realize that traveling is not just about the sights and the culture but also about the meeting other travelers from around the world.

7 Responses to “Morocco Wrap-Up”


  1. 1 Amy April 23, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    You are going to have likes and dislikes where ever you go. Relax and soak it all in, you don’t have to do something everyday, all the time, you might burn yourself out by the time I see you in Egypt. Mom and I had dinner last night, she says I am a cheaper date than you!! We talked about you a lot and miss you so much but we also know you are having a great time. Take care, I love your blog.
    love ya

  2. 2 Kathy April 23, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    The likes and dislikes may be my new favorite part to read 🙂

    Hey no famous artwork in Rabat to write about? HA HA I can’t wait to hear about Rome, I think that was the next place.

    The only part that I envy about your trip is meeting your new friends that would be my favorite part. See if there is a Father/son team we could date!

    How the heck to you write so well without spell check?

    I am getting really exicted about my trip….to West Vriginia not quite as glamorous as yours but looking forward to it.

    Love ya
    Aunt Kathy

  3. 3 Gilbert April 24, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    The wrap-up was great – very informative!

    Sounds like you are having a good time overall! I enjoy reading your updates, keep it up and don’t get so concerned about the language barrier. I’m sure you’re figuring out other ways to communicate.

    Laterz.

    Gilbert

  4. 4 Michelle April 24, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    Wow, what prices differences.. wish we could have paid 9.00 for a hotel on our way home from South Dakota.. Glad to hear you are having fun. And thanks for sharing your travels. Be safe. Cant wait to read your next blog.. 🙂

  5. 5 Cynthia Woolbright April 24, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    It’s been so much fun to be able to check in with you on your travels. You’re sooo good at this. Hmmm… maybe a travel writer in the works? That could be the perfect fit for a girl with a traveler’s heart but the realism of the need of income.

  6. 6 Mom April 25, 2008 at 2:00 am

    Looks like you’re counting your pennies. You mom taught you well!

  7. 7 Malena April 26, 2008 at 1:45 am

    I definitely agree with you about meeting other travelers! That’s been one of the most difficult parts for me, especially traveling alone. Meeting nice people can really make the trip.

    Sounds like you’re doing better with your money than me… I was fine until I hit Belize where EVERYTHING is expensive!


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

