The Magic of Marrakesh

Close your eyes and visualize your typical county fair.  There are animals, performances, artists, and most importantly food, right?  Now, replace the animals with snake charmers, think of the performers as storytellers, dancers, and drum beaters, the artists are pushy henna ladies (stay away from the henna ladies!), and forget about corndogs and popcorn instead think of snail soup, sheep’s head stew, and the easy on the stomach chicken kabobs and fries.  Now, add thousands of people, mostly local, and you have Djemaa el-Fna also known as “La Place”.  This spectacle of food, performance, and artistry happens every night in Marrakesh.

Marrakesh is the tourist darling of Morocco and an easy weekend trip for many Europeans.  I was taken aback by the sheer number of tourists as opposed to the other cities.  Some of the tourists were dressed in a very provacative manner is terms of Muslim culture – string tank tops, tube top dresses, etc.

I didn’t stray far from “La Place” because it was so enchanting.  Everything about it and the surrounding souqs were touristy but I didn’t care.  It was a welcome change from the French language and being intimidated to go into restaurants to eat.  Waiters stood outside and coaxed people into their restaurants.  I had the most delicious chicken schwarma sandwich.

But, the real treat is to eat at the various stalls in “La Place” when the sun goes down.  The stalls go up around 5pm and are taken down every night.  Here you can get kabobs and fries for around $5.  The waiter explained to me that one portion is 5 pieces and as I was looking at the skerwers it looked about 5 pieces per.  Imagine my surprise when 5 kabobs came my way!  Thank goodness I didn’t order two portions.  And the best part – all white meat!

Now, I’m in the laid back Essaouira (essa-we-rah).  I found a cool, funky place to sleep and it looks like I’ll get to meet other travelers later tonight.  Maybe I should have started here!

Oh, if you know how to pronounce “Djemaa el-Fna” you get bonus points.

6 Responses to “The Magic of Marrakesh”


  1. 1 Angela F April 19, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Wow! Sounds wonderful! I had some chicken skewers last night at a Turkish culture celebration at Vanderbilt university. They were delicious, too!

    Did you take pictures of the Djemaa el-Fna?

  2. 2 DAD April 19, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    GLAN TO SEE YOU’RE HAVING AN INTRESTING TIME. BEFORE YOU LEAVE NEXT TIME, TEACH YOU MOM HOW TO USE THE VIDEO CAM, SHE VIDEO EVERYTHING IN THE PAUSE MOD.

    LOVE YA DAD

  3. 3 Amy April 21, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    You didn’t try the snail soup or sheep’s head soup??? I thought you were expanding your pallet on this trip???

  4. 4 Kathy April 21, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Hi Stacy,

    Again, I love the way you write, I feel like I am there! Hey how has the weather been are you meltig from the heat? We had snow this weekend in Seattle, can you belive it almost May and snow in Seattle.
    Love ya,

    Kathy

  5. 5 Vanessa April 21, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    HIIIIIIII!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    How the heck are you waldo???!?!? 😉 we miss you a ton here at VanessaCreek Industries!! Ooops, I mean Dakota Creek 🙂 So, the dinner on saturday night was fun. The food was awesome and everyone seemed to have a really nice time. I didnt stay long, so it was short and sweet, which was perfect. Then I went out and danced the night away…wish you could have been there. Are you having a good time? How is the food? Have you met any wierdos? Are you married yet? I need to know these things!!! Well, I know you wont be able to respond soon, but try to keep us posted, ok? Love ya friend…take care!!!

  6. 6 mandy April 24, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    yeah, we missed you at the DCI dinner, no one took pictures! and there were so many people! your mom was pretty funny though, she made us all get out of our seats as a joke. ha ha


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

