Genuine Moroccan Hospitality

I am finishing this post because I was cutoff last time.  Sorry for the repost.

Morocco has had it’s ups and downs already.

The passport inspector at Casablana airport asked me if I was coming to Morocco to get married.  So much fun already!

I arrived in Morocco yesterday.  Independent traveling is not a vacation in case you are wondering.  To get from Madrid to Rabat it took 2 metro lines, a flight, 2 different trains with a taxi between the stations.  Outside the train station in Rabat I was not even bothered with.  I finally flagged down a taxi and he would not take me to the hotel because he said I do not need a taxi that I can walk.  So different than India or Thailand in that respect.

Eating is a challenge here.  Not so much the actual food but by not being intimidated to go in.  Rabat is not on the tourist trail and it is very lonely here because there are not a lot tourists.  All in all, Rabat is ok.

I took the train this morning to Meknes.  On the train I met a student named Soumia she invited me to her house.  I took the offer because she seemed very genuine and she is female.  I arrived at her family’s house to warm open arms.  With my limited French and Soumia’s limited English, I had a great time.  Imagine nine people around a 4 foot table eating from a communal plate.  They kept saying Stacy eat, eat!!  The table was a complete mess.  A truly Moroccan experience that I would not have had if I was traveling with a group or with someone else.  I even tried new things and everyone knows how picky I am.  But, I can safely say that I don’t like beets, or olives, or those little pickle looking things.  After lunch, there was fruit, mint tea and a well deserved nap.  The Moroccan way!!

After the nap, Soumia and her brother took me to find a hotel.  Soumia’s brother even had his policeman friend in on the search.  They stumbled onto a hotel recommended in the Lonely Planet.  So, it is good enough for me but let’s just say I’m thankful for the toilet paper Dave gave for Christmas.  But, what can you expect for about 7 dollars a night.  When, I left the hotel to find a ATM the hotel owner gave me a piece of his dessert (something like an elephant ear).  Meknes is much better than Rabat and I haven’t even been here for one night.

You’ll have to forgive me if there are any typos or punctuation problems- this French-Arabic keyboard is very different.  There’s so much more I can write but I’m afraid it might take me all night!

By the way, welcome Whidbey-News Times readers!

 

7 Responses to “Genuine Moroccan Hospitality”


  1. 1 Amy Voorhees April 13, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    First week and you are already going home with strangers!! You’ve seen that movie Hostel right?? Just kidding, glad to see you are experiencing everything, have fun!!

  2. 2 Mom April 13, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Glad to see that you are going home with strangers., Right! It’s already been not quite a week and I’m already bored without you. Take care, can’t wait to read your next adventure!

  3. 3 Kathy April 14, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    I love the foodie stories and what you have tried, I am so proud of you sampling the Moroccan flair you maybe ready to go on the Amazing race now.

    Look at you making new friends 🙂

    Hugs and kisses Aunt Kathy

    Hey do you have pepper spray just in case?

  4. 4 Angela F. April 14, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Awesome!! Morrocan hospitality has a well-deserved reputation!

  5. 5 Amy Voorhees April 14, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    uh oh, grain prices rose 120%, riots going on in Egypt!!! YIKES

  6. 6 Stacy April 16, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    Amy- Everything will be fine.

    Mom- Dad told me to trust my heart.

    Aunt Kathy- I tried all kinds of new things today. Tangine is excellent. Including some i don’t know what it was.

    Angela- People have been nothing but kind even random strangers say ¨Welcome to Morocco¨

  7. 7 mandy April 24, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    it’s funny that you go to morocco to have that communal eating experience, while i just go hang out with morrocans here in the states for it! i suppose it’s not the same though. i can’t believe you weren’t inspired to take more pictures!! egad girl!


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

