Madrid Wrap-Up

I know I am spoiling you with posts but the hostel has free high-speed internet.  Don´t get used to it.

All in all, Madrid is ok.  I´ve only taken two photos.  I´m just not inspired here.  I think I´ve realized that I am not drawn to Europe as much as I have been in the past.  I can´t wait to get to Morocco.

I went to the Reina Sofia Art Museum today.  It has more modern art including room after room of Picasso.  The museums´ superstar is Picasso´s ¨Guernica¨.  I could tell I was getting closer because I could here the crowds.  Again, like ¨La Meninas¨ yesterday, it was a lot bigger than I had expected and made it that much more impressive.  After the museum, I took the Madrid Vision Hop-on Hop-off bus around town and saw the rest of Madrid.

Things I´ve learned:  Crossing the street is an artform.  When the bird sounds start and the little green man lights up always wait because they will always be that one last car speeding through.  When the bird sounds start slowing down (I liken it to a sick bird) that´s when you hurry up.

Fashion is huge in Madrid.  Never have I felt more like a tourist than here.  Even the other travelers dress well.  I keep telling myself that I´m on a much longer trip and don´t have room for nice jackets, scarfs and such.  To me, Madrid fashion is much more apparent than in Paris.

My first hostel experience is going well.  All four beds in my room were taken.  Tashi is a Japanese student studying French in France.  Chris is German/Australian here for a five day break.  Tashi and Chris left this morning.  There´s also a tall (tall!) Finnish girl who can speak five languages.  She´s staying another night.  I wonder if the other two beds will be taken tonight.

The one thing I´m getting used to is the dorm locker.  Everytime I want to get something (like for example a pair of socks) I have to unpack everything out of the locker to get to it.  I need to think of a better way.

Off to Morocco tomorrow!

5 Responses to “Madrid Wrap-Up”


  1. 1 Angela April 9, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Stacy!! I’m so jealous that you’re going to Morocco. Of course, I’ll be jealous of every blog post, so I better stop staying that now!

    Have fun- I can’t wait to hear what it’s like to travel in Morocco from a single woman’s perspective.

  2. 2 Cynthia Woolbright April 9, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Hi Stacy,
    Just wanted to let you know that the story of your trip published Wednesday. You can find it on line. Hope i did you justice and you like it. Ignore the random “from around the world,” as it was a glitch that part of the “Greetings! from around the world …” headline was posted under the subhead.
    Ahhhh… I’m going to be checking your blog frequently and living vicariously through you. Take care. Hope you find an inspiring place soon.

  3. 3 Cynthia Woolbright April 9, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    haha. forgot to mention, story is at http://www.whidbeynewstimes.com for all those people wondering.

  4. 4 Meaghann April 10, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Stacy, I noticed the fashion thing as well when I was in Madrid four years ago. Back then they were wearing leg warmers over their stilettos and such. I was a little taken aback, never have I been a fan of leg warmers and to this day I’m still not.
    Have fun in Morocco! 20 days!!!!!

  5. 5 Kristi Deguzman April 11, 2008 at 5:05 am

    Hey Stacy!!! It’s great to hear that you are there and well. Great article in the paper about you and your travels! I’m so thrilled for you!! Enjoy yourself and I look forward to reading your blogs!!


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

