Sri Lanka Troubles

With great displeasure and disappointment, I am looking to modify my travel plans to avoid Sri Lanka due to increasing violence resulting from their civil war.  Until recently, the civil war was contained to the far north and did not affect the capital city of Colombo or the tourist areas in the hill country.  Locals are afraid to leave their homes now.  Buses and trains are targeted, which would be my main form of transport.  A bus was bombed on a route between two cities that I would have taken.  While foreigners are not directly targeted, I feel it is in by best interest to steer clear for now.

http://ap.google.com/article/ALeqM5gZGcTRtJMZLW0vCle1z0quu3y2TgD8UQT8EO0

Right now, the Gov’t of Sri Lanka is bombing Tamil Tiger bases in the North.  But, I highly doubt this conflict will resolve by August.

My alternate plan has me going straight on through to Singapore to spend an extra month in SE Asia which I can easily do.  Bali, Borneo Malaysia and Myanmar are all options.  My mom likes to bring up that nightclub bombing in Bali in 2002.  (How and why she remembers that is beyond me.)  But, everything I’ve read about Bail is beautiful beaches, a thriving art scene, and excellent food.  Sounds like my kind of place.  I’m not much into the “let’s get wasted because we’re in paradise” thing so I would probably avoid Kuta (where the nightclub bombings were) all together.

What do you think?  Should I hold on and see how Sri Lanka pans out?  Or should I just go straight to Singapore?

2 Responses to “Sri Lanka Troubles”


  1. 1 geethfrance February 20, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    dear stacy, i am sri lankan girl living in france. i cant tell you to go. it’s up to you. whet you tell is true. but as for me, when ever i think to go, (if financially i am ok) i am going. if some thing going to hapeen, it will happen. as for tsunami. you remember? i am sure, soon all these war will be behind us, at least i hope so. thanks, rachel. if you go dont forget to go hikkaduwa beach and kandy tooth temple.

  2. 2 Stacy February 20, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    Thanks, Rachel. You are right… anything can happen anywhere. I was really looking forward to going to Sri Lanka – I even changed the dates on my orginal air ticket to spend more time there. I think what led me to avoid the country for now is the recent ending of the cease-fire and the increase in attacks on civilians. Many people do not see a quick resolution.


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

