So Much Left To Do

Now that I’m less than 70 days away from leaving, I’m starting to freak out about my massive “to do” list.

Most of it has to do with buying gear, clothes, and a new backpack.  Luckily, I have a birthday coming up (29! Yikes!) and have already expressed my desire for REI giftcards (or money) so the shopping bit of it shouldn’t put too much of a dent in my trip savings.  I’ve done a lot of research of what I should pack but I’m always on the lookout for more tips and tricks.  Remember, I’m the girl who comes back from traveling wishing I had packed more.  I’m trying to find a happy medium.

Other things to do include putting my mom’s name on all of my accounts (just in case), cleaning and washing my car (so that my future brother-in-law can use it if needed), seeing the doctor about shots and pills, and getting a fresh supply of contacts (yea! for the vision benefit added to the medical insurance this year).

I’m also looking into the best debit card to take i.e. the least amount of fees etc.  Wells Fargo likes to charge me $5 a pop plus conversion fees.  So, I’m going to go to the bank and see what they can do for me.

I guess it’s just a whole lot of little stuff.  But, the days are ticking down… tick… tock… tick… tock…

2 Responses to “So Much Left To Do”


  1. 1 Megan February 1, 2008 at 3:20 am

    Be careful when you’re shopping, those costs really add up! If you’re not already a REI member, join because you’ll pay off your membership on your first trip. When I came home from my trip they cut me a check for $18 and I hadn’t shopped there in over a year.

    On my last trip I opened a Schwab checking account which reimburses me for all ATM fees. I don’t know what kind of balance you need—I have a brokerage account with them so it was a no brainer. It was the best deal I could find. Check to see what rate they convert at (interbank rate or interbank +4% makes a big difference).

  2. 2 Malena March 3, 2008 at 6:00 am

    Thanks for the comment! Good luck in trip preparations – I was at a similar place a few weeks ago and am only starting to get things under control. It’s funny, as I wasn’t at all nervous until about 15 days before I leave… but then I realized how much I still have left to do and I have no clue if I’ll be able to finish on time or not 🙂


Leave a Reply

Where’s Stacy?

Stacy is in West Virginia and totally amazed by the power of Math. (Nerd, I know!)

Categories

Email Subscription

Want to get a email alerting you to a new post? Click below to sign-up. Subscribe by Email

Subscribe in a Reader

For those who prefer and know how to use a feed reader...

January 2008
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

